If you come to a fork in the road, take it

Yep, that brilliant piece of travel advice came from none other than Yogi Berra.  I’m kind of a quote fan so I thought I’d share a few words of wit and wisdom about travel that I’ve stumbled over in my recent armchair travels.   Enjoy!

1.  “If you’re not living on the edge, you’re taking up too much space.”   unknown

2.  “All journeys have secret destinations of which the traveler is unaware” –  Martin Buber

3.  “When preparing to travel, lay out all of your clothes and all of your money.  Then take half the clothes and twice the money”  Susan Heller

4.  “I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list.”  Susan Sontage

5.  “If at some point you don’t ask yourself, ‘What have I gotten myself into?’ then you’re not doing it right.”  Roland Gau

6.  “Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure.  Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.”  Helen Keller

7.  “I travel light.  I think the most important thing is to be in a good mood and enjoy life, wherever you are.”  Diane von Furstenberg

8.  “Our happiest moments as tourists always seem to come when we stumble upon one thing while in pursuit of something else.”   Lawrence Block

9.  “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a cash advance.”

10.  “Don’t be a tourist.  Plan less.  Go slowly.  I traveled in the most inefficient way possible and it took me exactly where I wanted to go.”  National Geographic’s Andrew Evans on his 40 day, 40 bus journey from Washington D.C. to Antartica

11.  “Travel makes one modest, you see what a tiny place you occupy in the world.”  Gustave Flaubert

12.  “Stop worrying about the potholes in the road and celebrate the journey.”  Fitzhugh Mullan

13.  “The great difference between voyages rests not with the ships, but with the people you meet on them.”  Amelia E. Barr

14.  “Just shut up and get in the car.”  Nancy M. Thompson to Leslie H. Sims

15.  “If you look like your passport photo, you are too ill to travel.  Will Kommen

What’s your favorite travel quote?  I’ll add it to my list.

6 thoughts on “If you come to a fork in the road, take it

  1. I love this one from above: “All journeys have secret destinations of which the traveler is unaware”.
    I also have my own which I came up with on a six month solo trip to Europe. “Travel three days with someone in a place that neither of you have been before and learn all you need to know about them for life.” There is something about travel in unknown places that brings out the best and the worst in people.

    • Thanks Kirsten. I agree – ALL journeys have secret destinations whether they be life journeys or travel related. Hopefully someday soon I’ll become a world traveler like you and come up with some quotes of my own.

  2. “If you’re the only one on a train car and everyone on the platform is gesturing wildly at you and saying the same thing in German that appears to be a verb, figure it probably means ‘get out.'”
    Or maybe that’s just me.

    • Oh dear! I’m assuming this quote evolved from a personal experience? Many years ago, I was driving with my kids in L.A. and people kept waving and me and pointing. I waved back and thought “how cool”. Turns out I had driven away with my purse sitting on the top of the car.

  3. From George Harrison’s last album, when he he knew he was near the end of the journey through this world: “If you don’t know where you’re going, any road will take you there.”

    • And, from The Wiz – “Ease on down, ease on down the road.” Thanks for the comment, Gil. I’m no longer worried so much about knowing where I’m going so long as I have a good time getting there. How did Sandy compare to the famous Blizzard of 1978?

Leave a Reply

