Five Fun Things to do before I Die ~

Or twenty or one hundred …whatever.  What I’m really talking about and what I have been thinking about for quite a while is creating a bucket list.  Maybe part of the reason I haven’t taken any action on what I believe is a really good idea is because I don’t like the name.  Bucket List just doesn’t do it for me.  Nor does the the expression “kick the bucket”. I’ve tried thinking of other names – Life List, To Do List, Before I Die, It’s Now or Never.  Ok, I’m not doing any better.  So I realized I need to just get past the name and get on with the pondering, dreaming, and creating of my very own list of things I’ve always wants to do while I still can.

For some people (me), that’s not as easy as it sounds.  It’s easier to say, “Oh, I don’t know.”  or pull out a few standard issue ideas like “I want to travel.”   So, how do you get started on something like this.?  How about with a quiet place, a comfy chair, a glass of wine, a notepad and a nice pen.  And then?  Well, according to the wikihow-Make Your Bucket List, you just start asking questions and see what comes up.  If you keep asking long enough, I’m sure lots of interesting and long buried “I’ve always wanted to” ideas will begin to pop into your mind.  Write them down.  No judgement allowed here.  It’s not too big, too expensive, too crazy or even too small.  It’s just an idea that tickles your fancy.  A glimmer.  But that’s often how things start.  Then they have to bubble.  It’s amazing, but you start to see these places or things everywhere you look.  Then one day, you think. OK.  I’m going to make this happen.  And you do.  That’s how so many things have happened for me.   So far it’s always been random.  One day an idea pops into my head – I want to start an organization for women, or wouldn’t it be fun to live in San Miguel this winter, or most recently, I want to challenge myself and walk the Camino de Santiago.  Once the idea has lodged, look out because something’s gonna happen!  But, I’ve never had a plan or made a list and had the visual satisfaction of taking a big marker and crossing things OFF the list.  Been there!  Done that!  Now that I have more free time, I also know time is running out.  I want to make sure I have all the adventures and experiences my mind can conjure up and I think the Bucket List is one way to make that happen.

Walking the Great Wall of China – on the List

Geocache? On the list!

Fortunately, when I turned to the internet for insight and a little guidance, I found no less than six bucket-list websites where you can compile your own bucket list and share it with all your friends, family and the rest of the world.  Bucketlist.org users have posted nearly 16,000 lists containing over 300,000 items, ranging from climbing a volcano to learning to play the oboe.  For more inspiration you might check out Lifed.com’s list of 225 Things.  The other fun thing to do on these sites is make a mental list of ALL the amazing things that others hope to do that you have already done.    Watch out.  It can be addicting.

So, what are my Five Things?  They will probably change as I keep honing my Bucket List but so far ~  1.  Live in small town in France (or Italy) for six months.  2.  Learn to play golf well enough to play for fun with my hubby and join a ladies team (hit and giggle golf is ok).  3.  Attend a TED talk.  4.  Visit every National Park in the United States.  5.  Win the Lottery and start the Nancy M Thompson Charitable Foundation.

“Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming… “WOW – What a Ride!”  (anonymous)

What’s on your Bucket List?

10 thoughts on “Five Fun Things to do before I Die ~

    • Hi Marsha. How fun to see your name pop up! Aurora Borealis is on my bucket list as well. We used to see it sometimes in the summer at our cottage when I was a kid in Canada but to get way up north at exactly the right time – spectacular.

  1. I have never really sat down and done this either….but your blog is inspiring me to think…and it’s funny but I think mostly about people I want to see again or meet..Like Mother Teresa in India at her place would have been one.
    African Safari ( with NO snakes ) would be another one…yep this is fun!!

    • Annie, that’s what is so fun. Everybody has such different and unique ideas. You can’t meet Mother Teresa but you could go to India and visit the place she started and did her work. Betty B just did the Africa safari as part of her Church group travel to Kenya. Like I said, once the idea lodges in your mind, it is amazing how opportunities appear out of the air. The “experts” also said to have short term (can do soon), long term, big, and small. Maybe moving to Las Vegas is on your bucket list for 2013? Let’s figure out how to make that happen. xox

    • Well then put it on the list and let’s do it! We should drink pear martinis on your deck at sunset and work on our bucket lists together. I bet we could get really creative!

    • Susan, I’m with you on the train across Canada. I’d love to ride on the Orient Express too. There is something so romantic about train travel. Unfortunately, my Amtrak experiences have been more like taking the Greyhound and definitely not luxurious or romantic. Good luck on your adventures.

Leave a Reply

