Climbing Back on the Wagon ~

I fell off the wagon about a year ago.  No dings, cuts or bruises, but it’s been painful nonetheless.  What wagon?  The gym wagon.  And, let me just say, it has been hard as hell getting back on.  Oh, I still walk an hour or so every day, but somehow I do not seem to be able to walk myself the three short blocks to the gym.  We were so close, my gym and I.  But our love affair has dimmed.  We’ve lost our spark.  I’ve cheated. I’ve been seeing others.  Yep, I had a fling with Jazzercise.  I’ve combed the listings for Parks and Rec.  I even flirted a little with the weights that sit patiently behind the door in my office.  None of these relationships stuck.  Maybe I’ve been looking for LUV in all the wrong places.  And now I’m watching the hubs build a steady love affair of his own with the gym.  My gym!   I feel a wee bit like the jilted lover and I do not like the feeling.  Not one bit.  Oh, I’ve got excuses…LOTS of them.  I work full time. I have social and philanthropic commitments.  I have to write my blog.   It’s hot.  I’m tired.  I’m bored.  My shoulder hurts.  Something else hurts.  The classes are full.  The list is endless.  And a complete load of horse puckey.

There’s more than a little irony working here as well.  You see, I’m the woman who started going to the gym seven years ago and loved it so much I studied for and became a personal fitness trainer.  I know better.  I’ve taught others how to get fit.  And still, I sit.     Watching my buffness slowly (thank God!) turn into mushness.  Waiting for some magic spark of energy.    Here’s what I now know for sure.  I’m pretty much all in or all out.  No halfway for me.  And lately, I’ve been all out.   Hubs always says “a body in motion stays in motion.  A body at rest …well you know.”   Every now and then the Old Guy nails it.

Fellow blogger, Andrea Mee Maurer,  posted a while back about Matt Cutts’ TED talk Try something new thing for 30 days.  Andrea was smitten with the idea and committed to blog every day for 30 days.  Love the idea. Loved every one of your posts.  Andrea, you and TED have inspired me!  I’m going to use the 30 day plan to get my butt back into the gym.  It’s not something new, but I’m going to use the next 30 days to re-acquaint myself with my triceps, biceps, lats, and quads.  Re-kindle my love of sweat.   Regain my passion for sore muscles. Remind myself what I loved about Yoga, Zumba, Lift and Sculpt in the first place.   Oh, I know it won’t be easy.  But it is time.   I guess I sat around long enough  that the I magic spark I was waiting for finally found me.  Don’t know.  Don’t care.  I’m going with it.

Day One starts tomorrow.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

11 thoughts on “Climbing Back on the Wagon ~

    • Thanks Andrea! I’ll take the buns of steel but please don’t say “ripped” around anyone my age. It sounds like serious injury. Ha ha. Thank you again for the inspiration and the motivation.

  1. Wow u go girl….and we have a new cool goal the trip next year …I do love raiding your blog I get excited when there’s a new one ….you r my inspiration my sister …just going to have a wee spot of tea on the brazel Starbucks deck then head out to Toyota for 8am car tune up…they have coffee and big tv Mikey loved it there…also free wifi…and comfy chairs mmmm they need to serve tea n pastries…love to mr Les… ttfn

    Turning Point Learning Center INC P.O.Box 5328 chrb Saipan, M.P. 96950 1 670 483 0198 1 670 256 1200

    Sent from my IPAD

    • You are my role model (well and Les as well). It is SO hard to get going again. It’s like my butt is glued to the chair and I can’t get out.
      I love the idea of Saipan Starbucks! Enjoy your tea. I’ll keep you posted on the gym. And, yes. We need to get in condition for our 100km walk in Spain. So excited for that.

  2. I have GOT to read that post about the 30 day plan and I have GOT to go back through your blog to find out more about your 100 km walk in Spain. Is it the pilgrim walk to Santiago de Compostela? My biggest “walk” to date was the Milford Track in New Zealand, but that was only 35 miles. (Sounds more impressive in kilometers: 56.33) http://www.boomeresque.com/the-finest-walk-in-the-world-the-milford-track-south-island-new-zealand/

    • Well I have not done a 35 mile walk yet, but I will read all about it for sure. I really enjoy reading what others are doing and being inspired to get out there myself. We are all in this boomer thing together! We have set a plan to walk the Camino de Santiago (just the last 100km) next year for my 65th birthday and our 10th wedding anniversary. It is definitely not the warrior way, but the soft way for aging bodies. I have no problem with that and nothing to prove. If I can get up and walk 12-14 miles a day for a week, I’ll be very proud of my accomplishment. We’re hoping a few friends will come join us. Thanks for the travel inspiration!

  3. Very inspirational … rock on girl friend! Earlier this month I committed to find friends that loved kayaking as much as I did and get out at least once a week; it was a Sunday afternoon at Henry Hagg lake that my kayak paddle broke right in half, while paddling back to shore. I rationalized “Does this mean I’m up a creek with out a paddle?”.. and since that event “Ms Red Cayenne Chilly Pepper” has been just laying in my front yard waiting for me to replace the paddle and take her back out to hit the waves again. I’ll do it! I’m heading over to REI today, and I’ve set another date for this saturday, plan B would be to just rent one at the park for $10.00 a day. Yap – it’s the gliding thru the coves and inlets, and the hard upper body work out that draws me back again and again, it’s the perfect summer in the Northwest sport.

    • Go Laura! If I had a kayak or any idea how to do it, I’d be right there with you. Les and I do rent a canoe from time to time and I love the upper body workout and the peacefulness of being on the water. We’ve canoed mostly on the Tualatin where if you tip over you might not even get your clothes wet, but it feels like you are out in the middle of nature and that works. Haven’t been to Haag Lake since my kids were small. Have fun in the sun with your Cayenne Chilly Pepper!

    • Go Laura! If I had a kayak or any idea how to do it, I’d be right there with you. Les and I do rent a canoe from time to time and I love the upper body workout and the peacefulness of being on the water. We’ve canoed mostly on the Tualatin where if you tip over you might not even get your clothes wet, but it feels like you are out in the middle of nature and that works. Haven’t been to Haag Lake since my kids were small. Have fun in the sun with your Cayenne Chilly Pepper!

  4. The 30 day challenge is a good one! I joined a gym about two years ago, went at least 3-4 times a week religiously and I still love it. But for me it has to be a FUN experience and I have keep mixing it up (I bore easily) or I won’t go. Keeping it fun and making sure I leave with a sweaty smile makes me come back again and again. BTW–When you told me about Zumba a few years ago it opened up a new avenue to endorphins for me! Thanks!!

    • I so agree on the FUN part! I too get bored and I need something new. I do not love the treadmill kind of stuff but for now – just getting in the door is good enough. It’s getting the momentum again. Before its really too late. I love zumba and I’ll be in classes again for sure. They were really crowded but I see they added more. That’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

