Doors of Mexico ~

In oneself lies the whole world and if you know how to look and learn, the door is there and the key is in your hand. Nobody on earth can give you either the key or the door to open, except yourself.    Jiddu Krisnamurti

I am fascinated by doors, especially old wooden ones.  They are true works of art and function.  They keep you warm. They keep you safe.  They hide secrets.  They open wide to welcome friends and strangers.  On my visits to San Miguel, Guanajuato and the small towns in between, I’ve spent many happy hours studying and photographing doors – and making up my own stories about what was going on behind them.

I’m no professional photographer and my camera is a tiny point and shoot, but nevertheless, I hope you find these doors as beautiful and interesting as I did.

Entering the Art Instituto of course!

rich gringo doors

The door knockers were works of metal art.

Striking for sure, but somehow so wrong.

Who stole the doors?

10 thoughts on “Doors of Mexico ~

  1. I’m a door picture-taker, too, Nancy… there’s just something about doors, isn’t there? Great post! Love the photos! The colors are smashing ❤

    • Thanks Lois. I’m glad I have an opportunity with the blog to revisit these places through my photos and then share a few of them. So much better than just filed away on my Mac.

  2. My husband had exactly the same reaction during our February visit to San Miguel, Guanajuato and Queretero. (Taking photos of doors and door knockers). Actually, he did the same thing during our recent visit to Dublin.

    • Yes, there is something about old doors and old buildings in lovely old cities. Thank you for your other comment on how long it took to load the post. I was concerned about all the photos but when I opened it myself it didn’t seem to be a problem. I do need geek tech help. My knowledge and skills are very limited. It’s still a brave new world.

  3. Gawd I love doors. I have a collection of photos of doors of Argentina, Chile, Uruguay, France, Italy and Shanghai. Some day I’m gonna enlarge and have some printed and framed. Doors are the personality of the building and of the culture.

    • So true. They definitely set the whole aura for the building and how you feel when you first walk in. Hopefully some day, I’ll have door photos from lots and lots of places. I’d better get working on that.

  4. Beautiful! My sister-in-law did a collage of photos of doors she took on our trip to Italy a few years back. it was outstanding and this post reminded me of it (and of my longing to travel!). ~A

    • Apparently I’m not alone in my old door fetish. I hope to have the opportunity soon to add doors of Italy to my photo log.
      Cheers!

  5. I like to take doors also, including in Guanajuato and Queretaro! Another fun thing is floor mosaics if you want to branch out

    • Hi Judy, I loved our time in both Guanajuato and Queretaro. I could spend days/weeks/ and more wandering with my camera in hand. I’ll have to try the mosaics. So much beautiful art in their architecture! Thanks for stopping by and the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

