Nuns on the Bus ~ the ultimate road trip

We travel for so many reasons – to visit family and friends, explore new cultures, fulfill life-long dreams and maybe even live a more adventurous and economical life in retirement.  But, when I heard about this road trip recently undertaken by a group of Catholic sisters, I wanted to share their story.  Brilliant!

“Nuns on the Bus” is literally a bus filled with Catholic nuns who are traveling from the Midwest to Washington, D.C. to spotlight social justice issues and to protest the House Republican budget.   The sisters are focusing on social issues all along the way — holding press conferences and staging protests against the proposed budget cuts which they say will endanger those most in need.

Can I just say “Rock On Sisters!”   Sister Simone Campbell kicks off the tour on The Colbert Report.

2 thoughts on “Nuns on the Bus ~ the ultimate road trip

  1. Yay for road trips!

    I only wish they were standing in the “tradition” of Mother Teresa, another Catholic nun, who said, “I was once asked why I don’t participate in anti-war demonstrations. I said that I will never do that, but as soon as you have a pro-peace rally, I’ll be there.” Although her topic was that of war and peace, I think her style of “protest” also lends itself to being supportive of the people who would be affected by Paul Ryan’s budget, as well, instead of “fighting city hall” as it were.

    Great post, Nancy!

    • I agree Lois, but it looks to me like they are drawing attention and supporting all of the good things that are done in public/private partnerships and shining a light on the value of retaining the social safety net programs. There is no easy or clear answer these days.

Leave a Reply

