Life is Short ~ Wear Your Party Hat

Did you know that if you wear your birthday tiara into Starbucks on your birthday they’ll give you a drink on the house?  I didn’t either, but on my last birthday I decided I was going to celebrate with the world and wear my party hat all day long.  And, since every day pretty much starts at Starbucks for me, there I was at 7am – no make-up – but sporting my shiny purple birthday hat.  In addition to the free tea, I got some very interesting looks and had a couple of great conversations!  You never know what good things will happen when you’re wearing a purple tiara.  Try it.

The first time I saw the poem, When I’m An Old Woman, I Shall Wear Purple, I was only 39.  It struck a chord with me.  Probably because I was such a conformist back then; the thought of being an outrageous old woman really appealed to me.  Well, HELLO Dorothy!  I’ve arrived at the age of freedom.  I can wear any damn color I please because I am no longer driven to please.

Here’s my favorite part of the poem ~ Warning by Jenny Joseph

When I am an old woman, I shall wear purple

with a red hat that doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.

And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves

and satin candles, and say we’ve no money for butter.

I shall sit down on the pavement when I am tired

and gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells

and run my stick along the public railings

and make up for the sobriety of my youth.

I shall go out in my slippers in the rain

and pick the flowers in other people’s gardens

and learn to spit.

These days I’m celebrating life because I know that no matter how you count it, I am closer to the end than the beginning.  Somehow, knowing that has opened me up to finally living fully in the present moment.  Celebrating what is and whatever is to be.  I’m going  to wear my party hat every day and stock up on birthday candles well I’m at it.  Because, if there’s an opportunity to light a candle and stick in my morning pancakes to celebrate a beautiful sunny day – I am all in.  And, I’m going to learn how to spit…

By the way, these folks really know how to rock a party hat!

Go get your own hat and Party On…

3 thoughts on “Life is Short ~ Wear Your Party Hat

  1. Awesome post, Nancy! I didn’t know that about Starbucks either! On my birthday, I go to as many places as I can where I get something free for my birthday – I love it! (there’s even a website out there that lists all the freebie places!)

    I’ve never had any trouble being outrageous and just plain out-there… so it came as no surprise to most of the people I know when I tell them this is my favorite hat (pic taken a couple of years ago at my son’s house in Vancouver during a snow/ice storm… the hat is really warm so I don’t get to wear it very much): http://www.flickr.com/photos/loismiddleton/7177229246/in/photostream

    Keep it up! Be alert! The world needs more lerts!!

    • Love the photo and the hat. I need to add it to the blog. Can I? I couldn’t copy it from flickr. We have a whole bunch of family photos of people wearing swim goggles for some strange reason…adults, kids, whatever…and seldom by water and sometimes with alcohol involved. My sister used to say that the world needs more lerts. I agree.

      • Yes, you can download from Flickr: open the photo, right click (or ctrl click on Mac), and click on the medium size 500. The medium 500 will open and click on Download the Medium 500 size of this photo. That should do it!

Leave a Reply

