It Takes Two to Tango ~

This wonderful photo has been sitting on my computer desktop for months.  I think I downloaded it from someone’s Facebook post.

I want to be that woman!  Actually, I want Les and I to be just like that couple and we are now – sorta, kinda.  But I’m betting I’m a little more driven and a little less Driving Miss Daisy.   I have a serious case of the old English work ethic – if you are sitting still, you are wasting time.  My hubby is a hard worker, but he has always known how to give himself a time out and he is also a really good napper.  Watching him ease into Retirement Living is something to behold, really.  It’s almost an art form.  He just knows how to wring joy out of every moment.

I have so much to learn from this guy, it’s amazing.  He lives in the moment. I handle the worry.  He takes “cocktail hour” every evening to sit and share the day and reflect on all of the good things that happened.  I’m thinking about what I still have left to do or what I need to get done tomorrow.  After ten years together, you would think a smart woman like me would stop and smell the Pinot (it is cocktail hour) and see the wisdom in the crazy old guy’s ways.

A dear friend told me the other day that her mom and husband who are well into their 80’s clear a space in their dining room, turn on some big band music, and dance together every evening.  They have a cocktail too.  I LOVE that!   Being in the moment of being in love – at any age.  Hell, at every age!   How do so many of us forget how important that is?

Clearly, I’ve got some rose-smelling and napping and bridge dancing to do.

I’m working on it.

“You only live once, but when you do it right, that’s all you need.”   Mae West

7 thoughts on “It Takes Two to Tango ~

  1. Wonderful thoughts on living for the moment! It’s a great reminder for us all, regardless of what stage in our life we are living. I’m really enjoying “Being in the moment of being in love – at any age.” That is wonderful fruit for my heart’s appetite. Sarah would love for me to take her hand and dance with her at least once a day. How much more enriching would our lives be with that attitude? Thanks Nancy for a sharing your thoughts and lives with us.

    • I’ve seen you and Sarah dance and you are beautiful together. I am truly touched that you are enjoying the blog.

    • Yes… I am always learning, or at least thinking about it. Glad you are enjoying and sharing. Much appreciated.

    • Thanks Steph. Let me know when you are coming our way. Maybe we can meet up at Starbucks. I’d love to see your kids and hear about your move and life in Camas. I love Lacamas Lake.

    • Thanks Steph. Let me know when you are coming our way. Maybe we can meet up at Starbucks. I’d love to see your kids and hear about your move and life in Camas. I love Lacamas Lake.

Leave a Reply

